top of page

June 5th 2021 - Season Finale SMYC Dingy sailing

Updated: Jun 8, 2021

The end of the formal Sint Maarten Yacht Club Dinghy Sailing Season took place on Saturday June 5th . The final race of the Hope Ross series had taken place which was the final of the Season Championship that included the Soons series, the Aberson Series , the Hoedemaker series and the National Championships. The awarding of diplomas for the clubs Sailing School took place following the racing awards.

For the Hope Ross series in the Optimist class Caii Banting continued to dominate followed by Adriaan Coppelmans who just edged out Chris de Wilde followed by the determined Veronica Destin. In the Quest class Summer Morton dominated leaving Arthur Banting and Louka Williams to pick on seldom offered opportunities. In the Laser class Sam Peeks dominated giving away only two first places which were both grasped by second place Justin Pieterse. Third place was his sister Jordan Pieterse and fourth was Emma Lennox. Robbie Ferron took first in Jeanneau 20’s holding off Ian Hope Ross and Iain Mobbs who won the competitive second day.

The overall Grant Thornton Season Championship awards were announced which put Caii Banting, Adriaan Coppelmans, Chris de Wilde and Veronica Destin in, now very common order of finish. Ajani Blake won the Pico class followed by Melina de Vries. The big Laser class was won by Frits Bus followed by Jolyon Ferron and Justin Pieterse. The Quest championship went to Summer Morton followed by Arthur Banting. The Jeanneau 20 championship went to Robbie Ferron followed by commodore Garth Steyn and Nils Jannischen. The club recognized the contribution of Grant Thornton, the financial advisors who support both the dinghy championship and the keelboat championship .

As we can’t do this without volunteers we took the opportunity to thank them; for example the ladies that took care of the race committee this season; Clenda, Caren, Corrine, and Paul Henriques. Robbie Ferron and Iain Mobbs for their duties in the Sailing Committee. Randy and Davess for doing mark laying during the season. The recently started On Shore Committee for organizing registration, coolers etc; Christy, Kippy and Jolyon.

And Richard Coppelmans for making great pictures of the races and all competitors during the full season. As Richard will leave the island in July, we wish him all the best!

Results can be found here.

Pictures are online.

Whilst the formal season has now ended this will not end sailing at the yacht club . The Lagoonies regatta will take place on June 26th (one day event) for instance . The Sailing School will have their last regular week of sailing classes in the week of June 13th. The Summer Camps will start in the week of June 27th. Registration is still possible on

Mention was made of the many youth sailors who would be going overseas to study as well as those who are scheduled to leave Sint Maarten; Kai Henriques, Caii Banting, Summer Jean Morton, Sahil Khatnani, Chris and Cato de Wilde and Adriaan Coppelmans. We will miss their happy faces being on the yacht club, joining our sailing classes and races. We wish them the best!

40 views0 comments