top of page

The Aberson series concluded with a great second day of racing

Simpson Bay, St. Maarten – December 20, 2022

On Saturday December 17th thirty seven (37) candidates participated in the second and last day of the Aberson Series. The Aberson Series are part of the Grant Thronton Dingy Season Championship. The first race day of the Aberson Series took place on November 26th, the second day was sailed on December 17th.

Competitors from the Saint Barths Yacht Club, Club de Voile de Friars Bay from French Saint Martin, students from the secondary school MDA in French Saint Martin, and students from the Sint Maarten Yacht Club, signed up and took part in the race.

The entire Aberson series consisted of 9 races (5 races on the first day and 4 races on the second day) in 4 classes: Laser (4.7, Radial and Standard combined), Optimist, RS Quest, and RS Zest.

In the Laser class, a total of 15 competitors participated for the win. Jules Fortunati from St. Barths came in third place, Jordan Pieterse from the Sint Maarten Yacht Club came in second, but it was Alain in his laser Standard, representing MDA School Saint Martin that took the win.

It was great to see some old and familiar faces participating in the second day of the series. Alec Scarabelli is on island for the Christmas Holiday and sailed in a Laser Radial and even won the second race. As well as Stephen Looser, who sailed in the laser class as well.

With three competitors in the RS Zest class, Alexander Tiefenbrunne took the win over Massimo Lapierre who came in second and Freek Redele who came third. All three of them representing the Sint Maar

ten Yacht Club.

“It was Freek Redele his first race and we would like to congratulate him with his participation and achievement. It was great to see so many sailors out on the water today, we have seen some great racing. From achieving individual goals, spectacular capsizes, to tactical port starting

and great family moments. This is what the SMYC is all about, said Sam Peeks, racing coach of the Sint Maarten Yacht Club”.

The Optimist Class consisted of 14 competitors. Thomas Magras from St. Barths came in third place; Clement le Normand from Club de Voile de Friar s Bay came in second and Sarah Michaux also from Club de Voile de Friar s Bay took the win in the Optimist Class with 14 points out of 9 sailed races.

In the RS Quest Class there were four teams that participated in their class. Alex Speetjens and Sailing Instructor Xanthe Kerssemakers finished fourth, followed by Bob Engbers and his two kids who took third place, both from the Sint Maarten Yacht Club. Joris van den Eynde together with his two kids Axel and Louisa, from the Sint Maarten Yacht club as well, finished in second place and Lucca Magnan and Antonin Sciou representing the St. Barths Yacht Club finished in first place.

Sint Maarten Yacht Club

The club was established in 1980 with the goal to promote sailing on the island of St. Maarten. The Sint Maarten Yacht Club organizes multiple sailing events throughout the year, with the St. Maarten Heineken Regatta as its crown jewel. A youth sailing program stimulates local youngsters to become part of the sailing community, teaching them life skills like teamwork, perseverance and confidence. Always looking to further develop sailing on St. Maarten, the Club is active in promoting the sport, as well as the beautiful Caribbean Island destination of St. Maarten. For more information visit

31 views0 comments